Cultivating Young Leaders

Posted: June 13, 2019

Gord completes ALOT

Leeson Gord of Sandwich recently completed the Illinois Farm Bureau Agricultural Leaders of Tomorrow (ALOT) program.

This year’s ALOT class of 21graduates studied and developed leadership skills in the areas of communication, political process, agricultural economics, and global issues as part of the nine-week training program.

Illinois Farm Bureau created ALOT as an agricultural leadership development program designed to give participants a head-start on tackling tomorrow’s responsibilities. To date, over 1,000 participants have graduated from the program.


Clausen earns top scholarship

DeKalb County Farm Bureau member Chase Clausen has received the Illinois Farm Bureau Legacy of Leadership Scholarship. The scholarship is offered annually to one student that displays leadership qualities and well-rounded academic performance.

Chase received $7,500 towards his education at the University of Illinois where he just completed his sophomore year studying Agribusiness Markets and Management. On campus, he is a member of the FarmHouse Fraternity, Collegiate Farm Bureau, and is an ACE Department Ambassador.

Chase is the son of Jeff and Anna Clausen of Genoa and was a former State FFA officer. When asked about the distinguished achievement Chase said, “Growing up with Farm Bureau, I learned the value that the Farm Bureau has for farmers and the community as a whole. My grandfather was active in the organization and I truly am honored to have been selected as the recipient.”


Scholarship recipients honored

This year’s Farm Bureau Senior Scholarship recipients were honored at their high school’s awards program. Sycamore students received their scholarship award from Farm Bureau Foundation Director John Ward. Recipients pictured with Ward include: (from left) Seth Harbecke, Dayton Ward, Mindy Smits, Emily Grayburn, and Sophia McComb.


Section FFA officers elected

Farm Bureau would like to congratulate the newly elected Section 6 and Section 7 FFA officer teams. Several DeKalb County students were chosen to fill the positions within
both sections.

The 2019-2020 Section 6 FFA officer team includes: (from left) Allie Drake, Sycamore, president; Sawyer Willrett, DeKalb, vice president; Piper Roush, Belvidere, secretary; Connor Ray, Marengo, reporter; Delaney Hemann, Genoa-Kingston, treasurer; and Brooklyn Botterman, Genoa-Kingston, sentinel.

The Section 7 FFA officer team includes: (front from left) Avery Plote, Somonauk-Leland-Sandwich, president; Spencer DeGraaf, Seneca, vice president; (back) Levi Maierhofer, Seneca, reporter; Kara Freebairn, Serena, secretary; Danny Widman, Seneca, treasurer; and McKenna Dayhuff, Somonauk-Leland-Sandwich, sentinel.