FFA Chapters Elevate Experience

Posted: July 11, 2019

DeKalb County was well represented at the 2019 Illinois FFA Convention with FFA members and advisers participating in the Springfield based meeting, June 11-13.

This year’s state FFA theme was “ELEVATE” with jam-packed sessions for students to: “Elevate Your Experience, Elevate Your Team, Elevate Your Impact, Elevate Your Voice, Elevate Your Accomplishments and Elevate Your Future.”

FFA Chapters and students worked hard to earn awards received at the state convention. Their accomplishments are listed along with photos from this year’s convention.

DeKalb: State FFA Degrees – Logan Roach, Sawyer Willrett & Trevor Yaeger; Section 6 Star in Agricultural Placement – Trevor Yaeger.

Deloris Drendel of the Genoa-Kingston Chapter played her trumpet in the IL FFA Band during the convention.

Genoa-Kingston: State FFA Degree – Kaylee Wolf; Silver Rated Chapter; Silver Scrapbook Award; State FFA Band – Deloris Drendel; Spotlight on Service; Students in Press Corps.

Hiawatha: State FFA Convention participant.

Hinckley Big-Rock students take a break from the state convention to enjoy the sites of Springfield. Shown are (from left) Rebekah Badal, Kenzie Nier, Ashleigh Wackerlin, Jessica Dunteman, Maddie Noble, Devlin Hicks and Mason McKee.

Hinckley Big-Rock: State FFA Degree & Section 6 Star Farmer – Keith Herrmann; American FFA Degree – Elena Halverson; Heritage Award; Cooperative Award.

Members of the Indian Creek FFA at this year’s state convention included: (front row, from left) Abbie Pigott, Zoe Quinn, Kaitlyn Frazier, Taylor Gaston, (back row) Daniel Carmona, Tate Johnson, Logan Bend, Jordan Wortman, Brooke Wackerlin, Kayla McCormick, Kylee Bauer and Delia Diehl.

Indian Creek: State FFA Degrees – Tate Johnson & Abbie Pigott; American FFA Degree – Austin Suddeth; 20-Year Century Challenge Chapter Award; $1,000 Club for IL FFA Foundation.

Avery Plote of Leland was first runner-up in the State Extemporaneous Speaking Contest at the Illinois FFA Convention.

Somonauk-Leland-Sandwich: State FFA Degrees – Reilly Banning McKenna Dayhuff, Jonathan Larson & Ava Marshall; Section 7 President Avery Plote; First Runner-Up Extemporaneous Speaking Contest – Avery Plote; Silver Rank Chapter Award; FFA Scrapbook Gold Award.

Hanna Diehl proudly accepted the Gold Award for Chapter President based on her leadership as Sycamore FFA President. 

Sycamore: State FFA Degrees – Hanna Diehl, Matthew Drake, Tyler Drake, Allie Drake, Jarrod Pritchett, Mindy Smits & Dayton Ward; Section 6 Star in Agricultural Business – Jarrod Pritchett; Section 6 President – Allie Drake; 6th in State Prepared Speaking Contest – Mindy Smits; State FFA Band – Kaid Huwe; FFA Scrapbook Silver Award; $1,000 Club for IL FFA Foundation;

View State FFA Degree Recipients