Legislators Deemed Friends of Agriculture

Posted: September 24, 2020

Legislators representing DeKalb County had exceptional voting records.

Four state legislators serving DeKalb County residents earned top rankings with Illinois Farm Bureau as part of the Friend of Agriculture designation.

For the first time, Rep. Jeff Keicher received the Friend of Agriculture Award from Illinois Farm Bureau since he was elected in 2018. Shown with Rep. Keicher are Mark Tuttle, DeKalb County Farm Bureau president, and Mike Schweitzer, ACTIVATOR trustee.

Illinois Farm Bureau recently released the voting records of state legislators for 2019-2020 sessions. The ratings are based on how legislators voted on certain bills in accordance with Farm Bureau’s position on those bills.

In the House of Representatives, Rep. Jeff Keicher, 70th House District, earned at 91.3% rank. Keicher, R-Sycamore, agreed with Farm Bureau in opposing a progressive income tax and supporting a property rights bill, among other bills.

Rep. Tom Demmer, 90th House District, also earned a 91.3% rank with Farm Bureau. Demmer, R-Dixon, sided with Farm Bureau in opposing reducing the validity of a FOID card from 10 to 5 years and supporting an agricultural education teacher internship program as well as siding with Farm Bureau on other legislative bills.

Sen. Dave Severson, 35th State Senate District, received a 100% ranking with Illinois Farm Bureau. Severson, R-Rockford, sided with Farm Bureau on all bills which were identified by Farm Bureau for Friends of Agriculture. One example was being in agreement with Farm Bureau in opposing the requirement for registration of certain farm wagon and tank trailers having a fertilizer spreader attachment.

Sen. Brian Stewart, 45th Senate District, earned a 90.9% rank. Stewart, R-Freeport, agreed with Farm Bureau pertaining to modifying “local farm or food products” based on food grown in Illinois and supported the use of a skilled workforce and prevailing wage at any ethanol plant.

Illinois Farm Bureau compiles the voting records of legislators and these are used by the ACTIVATOR Committee to determine Friends of Agriculture. To receive this honor a legislator must have at least a 60% voting record with Farm Bureau and be selected by the ACTIVATOR Committee.

Federal legislators representing DeKalb County also earned the Friend of Agriculture award: U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger, District 16, R – Channahon; and U.S. Rep. Lauren Underwood, Distict 14, D – Naperville.