Senior Scholarships Awarded to Students

Five high school seniors were recently selected to receive Farm Bureau Foundation scholarships.

This year marks the 66th year of awarding DeKalb County Farm Bureau Senior Scholarships. The scholarship program was started in 1956 with the first scholarships given to five NIU students.

In 2022, five students attending a variety of colleges will receive a $1,200 scholarship which will assist with their college education expenses.

A committee of Farm Bureau members made the selection of scholarship recipients based on academics, leadership, and community service.

Students receiving the scholarship are featured with a listing of their high school, college choice and major. Farm Bureau salutes these college-bound students of Farm Bureau families.

Chloe Harbecke
Sycamore High School
Cederville University, Ohio
Ashley Olson
Sycamore High School
Kishwaukee College
Colin Nesler
Genoa-Kingston High School
University of Missouri
Agribusiness Management
Sydney Walter
DeKalb High School
Illinois State University
Heidi Wood
Sycamore High School
Northern Illinois University

Barshinger Ag Scholarship presented to Zoe Quinn

Zoe Quinn, a senior at Indian Creek High School, was selected to receive the Joe Barshinger Agriculture Scholarship. This fall Zoe will be studying agribusiness at Kishwaukee College.

Zoe is the daughter of Andrew and Katie Quinn of Shabbona.

At ICHS, Zoe served as FFA President and Class Vice President. She balanced her high standard of academics with her activities such as Student Council, soccer and golf, and National Honor Society.

This is the third year for the Barshinger Scholarship to be presented by the Barshinger Family and the DeKalb County Farm Bureau Foundation in memory of the late Joe Barshinger.

Phyllis Barshinger congratulates Zoe Quinn on receiving the Joe Barshinger Ag Scholarship at Indian Creek High School.